Home Homepage – Infinite Scroll Party History

Party History

The Frontline Socialist Party (FLSP) was inaugurated in the year 2011 consequent to the political fragmentation inside the People’s Liberation Front which is generally known as JVP.

The JVP led the 1988/89 armed struggle against the capitalist regime in Sri Lanka which was ruthlessly suppressed by then government. The internal organizations of the party were totally destructed during the uprising and in the year 1994 it had decided to enter into main stream politics without a serious political and ideological debate inside the party. There was a much needed requisite to have a self-criticism and analysis of lessons and challenges of local and international left movements prior to enter into main stream politics whereas the said requirement had not been fulfilled. As a result of that the JVP was fallen to narrow activism which gradually paved the way for parliament politics, trade unionism, reformism and racism.

Likewise the old left the JVP was unable to introduce left oriented political programme going beyond the traditional mass movements and election base politics. The merciless oppression over 1989 uprising, the dominant attitudes over the armed struggles in Sri Lankan Society, lack of alternative mass political programme pulled the JVP into parliamentarianism. It was inter connected to other derailing factors such as racism.

Ultimately the JVP had been absorbed by coalition politics and class companionship. For instance it was a partner of coalition government called probation government in the year 2001, aligned with capitalist candidates namely Mahinda Rajapaksha and Sarath Fonseka in 2005 and 2009 presidential elections.in the year 2015 the JVP had not contested for the presidential election indirectly supporting Maithreepala Sirisena who represented the coalition led nu UNP..

Furthermore the deviation of Socialist revolution of the JVP was transpired in their propaganda which was titled as ‘modern socialism’.

The bureaucratic centralized organizational structure was so detrimental to the revolutionary practices of the party. In the internal convention held in 2010 the party came to a majority decision that the coalition and racial politics should be eliminated. However bureaucratic leaders of the party did not contemplate the said majority decision in formulating party programme which was extended up to a constitutional and organizational crisis. The main reason for the split of the party was the said conspiracy.

In addition to above the inherited cultural backwardness such as petty bourgeois political nature, failure to practice centralized democracy contributed the collapse of the JVP. These are the contributory factors for the fragmentation of the party which compelled the majority members of the JVP to form FLSP. Therefore, the majority members of the Bolshevik Party decided to protect the left movement giving up the name of the JVP which was confined only for a name board.

The FLSP held its first convention on March 2012 with the participation of the majority members of the Bolshevik party who were earlier with JVP.A new central committee was appointed while ratifying a new constitution and party propaganda. At the very inception of the party comrade Lalith and Kugan were abducted and disappeared. Comrade Kumar Gunaratnam and Dimutu Atigala were abducted and Comrade Kumar was deported from the country. Those reactions from the government with the blessings of JVP indicated the fact that the left wing of the country is remained with the FLSP. After a long debate inside the party FLSP was able to iron out most of the ideological and organizational differences of the membership and the 2nd convention was held on February 2017 with the utmost courage and enthusiasm to build the socialism in Sri Lanka.

During the convention held in the year 2016 the party was able to publish its stands on philosophy, revolutionary mass movements and the national problem. The party retrospectively analyzed the previous decisions and failures. The Revolutionary Student Union, Centre for Workers’ Struggle, Movement for Farmers’ Struggle, Youth for CHEnge, Women movement for freedom, Movement for Equal Rights are the main mass movements of the party which are organizing the proletariats towards socialism.